3D Dots of Doom!

June 14, 2010

We featured Jason Poage’s initial creations for PS3-exclusive 3D Dot Game Heroes last month, and he’s not been resting on his pixellated laurels. He’s gone all retro and produced a new range of characters based on the FPS classic Doom. Here’s what he has to say on his continued fascination with the game and its associated online editors:

I’m not sure what it is about 3D Dot modeling that makes me so drawn to it. I guess that I just enjoy working with limitations and constraints, using them to do an impression of the subject I’m trying to portray. Or maybe I spent too much time playing with Legos as a kid, I don’t know.”

You can read more about Poage’s (aka @zi11ion) inspirations over on his blog. Hit the jump for images of his Doom set, or head over to his Q-Block page to see the actual models.

Leave a Reply

