The IC Collection: Update #4

May 17, 2010

If last week’s update was all about RPGs, this week it’s all about survival horror titles. Inspired by the release last Friday of Xbox 360 thriller Alan Wake, I’ve been scouring eBay for the great and good games from years gone by which were designed to raise the hairs on the back of my neck. So, new to the Collection this week are a clutch of horror-tastic PS2 games, Condemned 2 for the PS3 and Call Of Duty: World At War… because, er, it was cheap.

Update #4

The Thing (PS2) – £1.51 from eBay

The Suffering (PS2) – £1.20 from eBay

Obscure (PS2) – £2.20 from eBay

Clock Tower 3 (PS2) – £5.50 from eBay

Project Zero 2: Crimson Butterfly (PS2) – £4.20 from eBay

7 Sins (PS2) – £6.00 from eBay

Condemned 2 (PS3) – £5.01 from eBay

Call Of Duty: World At War (PS3) – £9.98 from Game

Alan Wake (Xbox 360) – £39.99 in-store from HMV

2 Responses to “The IC Collection: Update #4”

  1. noobcake Says:

    I do love a blast from the past. This got me wondering if I should try and find a copy of Resident Evil just to relive that moment when the dog jumps through the window or that first zombie attack. Although maybe after hi-def gaming the old PS1 games may now look rather silly and dated, and probably best left to the old Fond Video Game Memories file.

    I know when I recently saw FF7 on a big lcd screen it looked really poor, so I had to turn away before my loving memories of late night FF sessions became tarnished. Love your Alan Wake review btw, excellent write up.


    • Thanks noobcake! It’s funny, I would have been inclined to agree with you before I played through SIlent Hill for my recent ‘It All Began With…’ feature, which I played on a HD TV. While it, of course, looks poor compared to when it was first released, I can’t say it diminished any of the creepy atmosphere of the game. In fact, I often find the graphics of the older PS1 games rather charming when played so many years later. Plus, these games are well-remembered for reasons other than the visuals – their scares still apply today. So, go for it, give Resi another whirl 🙂


Leave a Reply

