A 2009 Retrospective

December 31, 2009

It’s been a busy, exciting year, both for myself personally and for videogames in general. After a few reviews posted in October 2008 kicked off the infinitecontinues blog, it wasn’t until March of this year that I posted again – a review of the hugely impressive Dead Space – but writing and regular posting began in earnest from August, finally giving me a productive reason (and an iron-clad excuse) for playing so many games! Visitors are respectable in number, boosted by the surprising popularity of my Videogame Minimalism designs (which even spawned some imitators!), a venture that I plan to do a lot more with as we enter the new year. I have big plans for infinitecontinues too, and I’m hoping that my 2010 Retrospective will be looking back on a yer of big growth for this blog and a few other ideas I have for the brand, which I’ll keep under wraps for now.

In terms of videogaming, Spring of this year saw the first ever console demise I’ve had to suffer; the now infamous Red Ring Of Death that strikes down so many Xbox 360s. With a possible job opportunity arising at Sony, I traded in the dozens of Xbox 360 games I had gathering dust on my shelves and bought a shiny new PS3. As luck would have it, Sony Computer Entertainment Europe offered me the job of Artist the following day! Spooky, huh? Several months later, with my passion for videogaming growing, and my stack of unplayed games rising, I bought another Xbox 360, so now have all three of the current generation of consoles, much to my girlfriend’s chagrin…

With a clutch of vaunted titles round the corner in the new decade (Heavy Rain, Bayonetta, Bioshock 2, God Of War 3 and Dante’s Inferno amongst them), there are no signs of my love affair with videogaming dying out anytime soon. As our favourite medium begins to mature and learn from the mistakes of its past, we could be entering another golden age of gaming, especially as the technology we use to run the games on improves at such an impressive rate. I’ll be bringing you my personal take on the development of our industry through infinitecontinues, and I’ll hope you’ll choose to stick around and discuss it with me.

Happy New Year to you all!

One Response to “A 2009 Retrospective”

  1. Adam Says:

    Happy New Year. to all of you guys.


Leave a Reply

