Going back to the roots…

October 20, 2009

evolution

One thing that strikes me as a new PS3 owner is the number of sequels and instalments in long-running franchises on the system in which I have never even played the original. Were these first games huge critical successes or simply box office smashes that drove the publisher to demand sequels, ‘good’ game or not?

A cursory glance at any sales list for the PS3 will uncover entries such as Metal Gear Solid 4, Grand Theft Auto IV, Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, Half-Life 2 – all franchises of which their original instalments all passed me by.

At the weekend, I was in CEX in my hometown, which stocks a huge number of pre-owned PS2 games. Predicating my purchases on some franchises that have at least spawned a sequel, if not a string of subsequent releases, I snapped up the following titles:

The Getaway
Half-Life
Manhunt
Red Dead Revolver
Call Of Duty: Finest Hour

I’m looking forward to finding out what it was about these games that prompted their developers/publishers to further develop the IP and whether they were justified (huge pots of money aside) in doing so. Watch this space.

2 Responses to “Going back to the roots…”

  1. Tony Goff Says:

    For me Half Life is a classic, I played in a small 300×250 window back in 1998 (how befitting) as my computer was too slow to run it fullscreen. Once I upgraded my processor I played it fullscreen again…then I played it again when I brought a new graphics card. It was, and probably still is, a great game.

    • The Author Says:

      As I never had a PS2 or PC the ‘first time round’ I have close to no knowledge of the Half-Life or Call Of Duty series at all, bar a brief demo play of the Half-Life 2 game bundled with the Orange Box. Looking forward to starting from the beginning with all of these. And will also hunt down a copy of the original GTA too, methniks. And possibly Metal Gear Solid.


Leave a Reply

