Too much choice

January 9, 2010

It’s a nice problem to have, but it’s still a problem: I own too many games. Some of them I can pass off as by-products of the curious tendency of graphic designers to collect things. Others are games I feel like I should have played. Still more are those in certain series’ in which I have enjoyed current titles. A stock-take of my games collection highlights the problem. The following is a list of games, that, as of today, I own and have not yet played.

  • WarioWare: Smooth Moves (Wii)
  • Prince Of Persia: Warrior Within (Gamecube)
  • Eternal Darkness: Sanity’s Requiem (Gamecube)
  • Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door (Gamecube)
  • Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (DS)
  • Mario & Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story (DS)
  • Mass Effect (Xbox 360)
  • Gears Of War 2 (Xbox 360)
  • Sega Superstar Tennis (Xbox 360)
  • Rock Band (PS3)
  • Rock Band 2 (PS3)
  • Ratchet & Clank: Tools Of Destruction (PS3)
  • Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters (PSP)
  • Secret Agent Clank (PSP)
  • Gran Turismo (PSP)
  • Patapon 2 (PSP)
  • LocoRoco 2 (PSP)
  • Prince Of Persia: Sands Of Time (PS2)
  • Prince Of Persia: The Two Thrones (PS2)
  • Resident Evil: Dead Aim (PS2)
  • Manhunt (PS2)
  • Half Life (PS2)
  • Shadow Of Memories (PS2)

By my count, that’s 23 unplayed titles. With a raft of games coming out over the next few months that are simply must-haves, what is the likelihood of me playing any of these games this year? Let’s look even closer. The following is a list of games that I posted First Impressions for and, currently at least, remain unfinished and unreviewed:

  • Wario Land: The Shake Dimension (Wii)
  • Far Cry 2 (PS3)
  • God Of War Collection (PS3)
  • Heavenly Sword (PS3)
  • New Super Mario Bros. Wii (Wii)
  • Grand Theft Auto: The Ballad Of Gay Tony (Xbox 360)
  • Borderlands (Xbox 360)
  • Project Zero (PS2)
  • Dead Space: Extraction (Wii)
  • Heart Of Darkness (PS1)
  • de Blob (Wii)

Factor those in, and that’s a staggering 33 titles that require completion. I’m certainly not alone in having a backlog of games to get through, but this is getting ridiculous. So, help me: what the hell should I play??

5 Responses to “Too much choice”

  1. teeny Says:

    My backlog consists of well over 50 games, if you include all of the Virtual Console stuff I buy on a whim. My problem is bargain bins and boot sales – if there is something there for cheap, I have to have it. Im thinking of setting up a blog that will help me focus and clear it, but its just too massive now.

    So, I feel your pain ;)

    As for what to play next, I think you need to complete New Super Mario Bros. Wii. That was one game that kept me hooked all the way throughout and, if you are a Mario fan, World 9 and the final boss will not disappoint. It is easily one of my most favourite games on the Wii.

    Plus, its quite easy to clear ;)

  2. teeny Says:

    God yes. The other day I was just sitting about because I couldnt decide.

    Ended up reading a book instead. :P

  3. Tony Goff Says:

    I loved Far Cry 2, in terms of gameplay, but the story and ending is weak and you can’t keep playing after you finish which seems to negate the whole point of the open world.

    Gears of War 2 is pretty sweet, if not that much better then the first, and Mass Effect is better saved for when you can complete it and swiftly move onto the sequel. At your rate it might be an idea to keep that on the back burner and play all three when the third and final game comes out in 2012 ;)


    • I was enjoying Far Cry 2, but it didn’t keep my attention enough to keep playing once other games landed in my lap. Like I commented on in my First Impressions post, the story is flying by me completely, mostly because I’m getting side-tracked by all the various extra, non-story missions. I’ll be sure to mop all those up before finishing the game if it doesn’t let you continue.

      Yeh, I’m imagining I’ll need a solid lump of time for Mass Effect, and I don’t quite have that time to devote to it at the moment; what with a big catalogue of games to finish up to post reviews. I’m not fussed about getting the sequel until I finish the first, despite the hype, especially considering the feature that it recognises your save game when from the first when starting the second. That has potentially a lot of impact on how you play the franchise, I’m sure.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

